How to leave or remove your emails from the server in your Gmail-based account

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionSend by emailSend by emailPDF versionPDF version

If you are using a custom-domain POP email account, like that supplied by your ISP or your website, and you decided to add the POP account to your existing Gmail account for centralized access, you have a critical option that you might or might not set correctly.Leave or purge emails from POP server after Gmail downloads your emails

NOTE: If you want add your POP email account to your Gmail, follow the detailed steps in this link: http://www.technicalforum.org/email/how-add-other-existing-email-account....

The critical option I was referring to is the setting to leave your emails on your POP server after Gmail downloads them, or not.

 

Why leave emails on your POP Server?

There are several reasons why you need to leave emails on your POP server after Gmail downloads them. Among there are listed below:

  1. For backup purposes. If your Gmail account is compromised, your emails are safe from the original POP account.
  2. To allow other people to access the POP account. If your Gmail account is a personal account, you won't want other people to access the account. If you want other people in your organization to access the POP account, you need to leave the emails in the POP server for them to download or read.

 

Why NOT leave emails in your POP Server?

There are also reasons why you should not leave your emails on your POP server. Among them are listed below:

  1. Avoid inbox corruption. If your POP account receives tons of emails everyday like in common support or business emails, it is not a good idea to leave those emails on the POP server after your Gmail downloads them. This is to keep your POP server free of huge disk space to accommodate incoming emails. Over time, when accumulated emails grow into a huge amount, the inbox can become corrupted losing all of your emails in an instant.
  2. Optimize your POP account for speed. If your POP server has a huge free disk space, the process of saving incoming emails and purging of old or downloaded emails will be faster. This is a good practice to keep your POP server healthy.

Whether or not you are to leave your emails on your POP server, it is all up to you. You always find your reasons to do so or not. In either ways, here are the steps to leave or not to leave your emails in your POP server in your Gmail account. (NOTE: If you have NOT added your POP email account to your Gmail, follow the detailed steps in this link: http://www.technicalforum.org/email/how-add-other-existing-email-account....)

Step 1: Using your web browser, go to http://gmail.com and sign in to your account. When signed in, locate and click on the small gear icon then click on Settings.

Gmail settings

Step 2: In the Settings page, click on the Account tab.

The Gmail Settings account tab

Step 3: In the group called "Check mail from other accounts (using POP3):", locate the POP account that you want to modify. Then click on "Edit Info" link opposite the POP account.

Step 4: In the dialog box that opens, CHECK the box that says "Leave a copy of retrieved message on the server" if you want to leave copies to your POP server. Otherwise, UNCHECK it.

Step 5: Click on Save Changes button to close the dialog box.

The setting to leave or not leave your emails on your POP server

 

Email Provider: